New year, new project!

HAPPY NEW YEAR!! I have been knitting A LOT in the last few weeks; I made three hats and a scarf in December – all gifts for others. I also finished knitting the two clapotis I was making for Valerie and Donna. They turned out huge, but gorgeous. Now that holiday knitting is out of the way, I can start on my yearlong goal of knitting one garment from each knitting pattern book I own. 

First up, the Soho smocked dress from Modern Top-Down Knitting by Kristin McGowan. The minute I saw this pattern, I knew I had to make it. It’s gorgeous!!

Image

 

After weighing my color options, I decided I would make this in emerald green. I’m using KnitPicks Wool of the Andes in Everglade Heather. The photo on the website really doesn’t do the yarn justice, the color is so much richer in person! I began knitting last night during the Golden Globes, and stayed up until 5am (thank you True Blood + endless stockinette) because I didn’t want to stop until I had connected the sleeve components in the round. This is my first top-down project, and the instructions were rather intimidating, but it’s shaping up beautifully!! I am about to start the bust decreases… Hopefully they turn out all right even though I am planning to omit a few rows. Fingers crossed!!

Leave a Reply

